Decorating a Shared Room with Coral and Blue

by generalmom

I was beginning to think I would need to repaint the girls shared bedroom. Afterall, it was light yellow with straw yellow carpet. It was basically blah, blah, blah and very monochromatic.

I started the transformation with these adorable coral and white striped drapes at TJMaxx for $29 for the pair. I was surprised that it totally changed the blah room to wow!

IMG_0952.JPG
Then, I found these Cynthia Rowley blue ruffle comforters at TJMaxx for $35 each. The coral monogram initials came from Kirkland’s above their beds. They actually only had an “M” but I needed an “N” that the hubs had to jig saw off the extra leg and dremel it smooth. I touched up the sanded spot with acrylic paint to match. And now we have an “N”! These layers of colors really started to transform the room.

IMG_0950.JPG
I already had the antique hutch which holds folded clothes and books that I transformed years ago during the black furniture rage. I considered painting all the pieces again. Would love your feedback if they should stay black or change to blue or coral!

IMG_0951.JPG
I found this old record cabinet years ago and it is bright red inside with a built in switch. I lined it with white shelf paper so that folded clothes can hide inside. A cute coral scripture hangs above it from Hobby Lobby that was 90% off making it $4. All the artwork was the same discounted awesomeness.

IMG_0946.JPG

IMG_0944.JPG
I pulled out these antique mirrors that look cute in a grouping with some added ribbon to match the bedding.

IMG_0953.JPG
There we have it…avoided painting the walls, added lots of color and found decor at big discounts made for a fresh, fun shared bedroom.

IMG_0955.JPG

