Cast Your Net Wide!

by generalmom

Since I am the owner builder/general contractor and also new to our area and state, I am now labeling myself a detective too.  You have to cast your net very wide to gather all the information and quotes you will need.  Ok, maybe that makes me a fisherwoman.  I like angler better.

I have talked to hundreds of people and yes, it’s tedious.  If you are on a budget, you have to reel in quotes from so many people to understand who is very expensive, moderately expensive and fair.  It’s a bit discouraging, so be prepared when you get that custom kitchen cabinet quote that would make a grown girl cry.  But it certainly helps you really love the quote of stock made cabinets.

I suggest getting a “Home Finance” folder at Staples that allows you to put quotes in the monthly folders and write the date, description, and amount.

Some interesting Builders Proverbs that motivate me to keep researching:

King’s Law – No matter how long or how hard your shop for an item, after you’ve bought it, it will be on sale somewhere, for less.

If only one bid can be secured on any project, the price will be unreasonable.

